Commercial LED lighting retrofits and Title 24
Swapping a warehouse or office to LED is regulated work in California when the change touches 10 percent or more of the fixtures in a room. The rules differ for indoor, outdoor and emergency lights.

- 10% or more of the fixtures in an enclosed spaceIndoor trigger
- Up to 50 fixtures per floor or tenant space per yearOne-for-one exemption
- 5,000 sq ft or less, with at least 40% lower wattageSmall-space option
- 90 minutes on battery or generatorEmergency lighting run time
When an LED swap becomes a Title 24 project
The California Energy Code, also called Title 24 Part 6, treats a lighting change as an alteration. Under Section 141.0(b)2I in the 2025 edition, which took effect January 1, 2026, an alteration that touches 10 percent or more of the fixtures serving an enclosed space must meet one of three paths:
- Meet the lighting power limits in Section 140.6 and the control rules in Table 141.0-F.
- Come in at 80 percent or less of the Section 140.6 power limit, with the same controls.
- In a building or tenant space of 5,000 square feet or less, swap fixtures one for one and cut the total wattage by at least 40 percent.
Several changes skip all three. Replacing only lamps, ballasts or drivers is exempt. So is adding controls alone, a room with a single fixture, and a one-for-one swap of up to 50 fixtures per floor or per tenant space in a year. The service and repair page lists the same exemptions in a shorter form.
The Energy Commission’s compliance manual explains why option 2 and option 3 are popular. Because they end at a lower wattage, they do not require multi-level, daylighting or demand response controls. They still require the manual area and automatic shut-off controls. The manual linked below is the 2025 edition.
Controls and daylight sensors
Most tenants find the controls cost more thought than the fixtures. Option 1 pulls in automatic shut-off controls, multi-level lighting and, in rooms with enough window or skylight area, automatic daylighting controls. A warehouse with skylights is the usual case. The manual shows a daylighting control that must be able to cut lighting power by at least 65 percent when daylight fills the zone, for the skylight case it describes.
Ask the electrician which option the design uses and which controls come with it. Then ask who is responsible for the compliance forms. A designer may prepare them, and the installer signs a certificate that the work matches.
Parking lots, wall packs and pole lights
Outdoor lights sit under Section 141.0(b)2L, not the indoor rule. As summarized from the 2025 text:
- If the connected load goes up, added or altered fixtures must meet the outdoor lighting rules for that use.
- If the load stays the same and 10 percent or more of the fixtures are replaced, the new fixtures must meet the basic outdoor requirements.
- If 50 percent or more are replaced, the broader outdoor requirements apply too.
- Replacing fewer than five fixtures is excepted from the 10 percent rule.
For lots, the 2025 manual describes motion sensing controls on fixtures over 40 watts mounted 24 feet or lower, and outdoor controls that need an acceptance test certificate filed with the city. The dimming range, sensor coverage and exceptions are detailed in the manual. Confirm them against the edition the city applies. A parking lot also touches the commercial EV charging page when chargers are added later. The parking lot lighting page covers lot controls, shielding, lighting zones and the control tests in full.
Exit signs and emergency lighting
Exit signs and path lighting do not count as ordinary lighting. The California Building Code, Section 1008.3.1, calls for emergency power to run for not less than 90 minutes where two or more exits are required. Existing buildings can fall under different wording, with 60 minutes cited for some cases, so the building type matters.
After the retrofit the system still has to be tested. Riverside County Fire’s guidance, published through the City of Moreno Valley, asks for a functional test about every month for at least 30 seconds, a yearly test of 90 minutes on battery, and written records kept by the owner for the fire authority. A maintenance agreement is one way owners schedule those tests.
Utility programs, checked October 30, 2026
- LADWP Commercial Lighting Incentive Program: for customers above 200 kW of monthly use. Equipment generally must be on the DesignLights Consortium list, the project must save at least 25 percent, and LADWP must approve it before purchase. Rebates are paid per kWh saved, from $0.08 for lamps only up to $0.40 for LADWP Preferred fixtures, using rates dated July 1, 2024. Funds go first come, first served, and the page says the program can change or end without notice. The page shows an Apply Today button and no closure notice as of October 30, 2026.
- LADWP Commercial Direct Install: for customers at 250 kW or less. LADWP describes LED upgrades as free and utility funded under its terms. The page shows an Apply Today button and no closure notice as of October 30, 2026, but it does not say how much funding is left, so call before you plan around it.
- Riverside Public Utilities: commercial accounts can use a program for existing outdoor fixtures, limited by funding and one use per year.
This page does not state a current status for SCE or SDG&E lighting programs, because their pages could not be opened during research on October 30, 2026. Check each utility’s business savings page first. Many programs ask for approval before you order equipment, and a signed invoice can end your eligibility.
Permits and plan check
Permit rules for lighting are local. San Diego requires a permit for electrical work in general and gives nonresidential projects a no-plan track, with plans for jobs outside it. Long Beach’s express list allows a same-type, same-wattage fixture swap, and for nonresidential buildings only below 10 percent of the fixtures in a room. A bigger changeout falls outside that list, so ask the city. Where a permit is required, the electrician pulls it and the city inspects the work. A job that adds circuits or changes a panel is the likeliest to need one.
Cost
This page quotes no price, because fixture type, ceiling height, lift rental, controls and rebate eligibility change the total too much for one number. Get the fixture count first, then ask for a quote that splits fixtures, controls, labor and permit fees. The quote checklist shows the lines.
What to send
For a quote, send the building type, address, whether you are the tenant, owner or property manager, the number and type of fixtures, ceiling height, and what is wrong or planned, through the quote form.
What the work covers
| Item | What it involves |
|---|---|
| Fixture swap | Troffers, high bays, wall packs, canopy and pole lights replaced with LED fixtures or retrofit kits. |
| Lamp-only change | LED tubes or lamps in existing fixtures. Exempt from the lighting alteration rule when only lamps, ballasts or drivers are replaced. |
| Controls | Occupancy sensors, time clocks, dimming, daylight sensors and parking lot motion sensors, where the rule requires them. |
| Wiring changes | New circuits or relocated switches that come with a layout change. |
| Exit and emergency lights | LED exit signs, battery units and a test log for the fire code. |
| Paperwork | Compliance forms, and for some controls an acceptance test certificate filed with the city. |
How the job goes
- CountList every fixture by room, with type, wattage and hours of use.
- Check the triggerCompare the number of fixtures changed with the 10 percent line and the exemptions.
- Check the utilityConfirm any program before buying fixtures, because many require approval first.
- Permit and installThe electrician files the permit if the city requires one and the city inspects.
Send three things. Get a call.
Share the building, the job and a deadline. Your request goes to a licensed partner electrician, who contacts you about the building, the load and the permit path.
Commercial electrical work is available through the partner electrician.
- The buildingType of business, address and rough size.
- Who you areOwner, tenant, property manager or HOA board.
- The jobWhat is wrong or planned, and any deadline such as a lease date or inspection.
Commercial electricians by city
Questions people ask
Do I need a permit to switch my warehouse to LED?
Often yes when you replace fixtures, and often no for a lamp-only swap, but each city decides. Long Beach, for example, lists a fixture swap of the same type, voltage and wattage as an express permit, but for nonresidential only under 10 percent of the fixtures in a room. Ask the building department with your fixture count.
Does Title 24 apply if I only replace the bulbs?
No. The California Energy Code exempts an alteration that is limited to adding controls or replacing lamps, ballasts or drivers. It also exempts a one-for-one fixture swap of up to 50 fixtures per floor or per tenant space each year. Once you pass those limits and touch 10 percent or more of a room's fixtures, the lighting power and control rules apply.
Do parking lot lights have different rules from indoor lights?
Yes. Outdoor lighting has its own part of the Energy Code. If the connected load does not go up and 10 percent or more of the luminaires are replaced, the new fixtures must meet the outdoor requirements, with more rules when 50 percent or more are replaced. Replacing fewer than five fixtures is excepted. Motion controls and schedules often apply to lots.
Do exit signs have to be on battery backup?
Yes, with an exception for approved self-illuminating signs. The California Building Code requires exit signs and egress lighting to run on emergency power for not less than 90 minutes in most buildings. The California Fire Code, as applied by Riverside County Fire, also asks for a monthly 30 second test, a yearly 90 minute test and written records kept for the fire inspector.
Can a small business get LED upgrades paid by the utility?
Sometimes. LADWP lists a direct install program for customers at 250 kW or less that describes no-cost LED upgrades. Its page shows an Apply Today button and no closure notice as of October 30, 2026, but it does not state how much funding is left. Riverside Public Utilities runs a funds-limited outdoor lighting program. Ask the utility before you buy anything, since equipment bought first is often not eligible.
Related
Commercial
Commercial electrical service and repair
A business electrical problem is either inside your meter, where an electrician fixes it, or outside it…
Tenant improvement electrical: what a build-out needs
In a lease build-out, the electrician works from the landlord's service up to the last outlet. The code…
Commercial panel and service upgrades
A commercial service upgrade has two jobs: the electrician's work inside the building and the utility's…
Electrical maintenance agreements for commercial buildings
A maintenance agreement is a written list of electrical checks, how often they happen and what happens…
Commercial electrical work in Los Angeles
Los Angeles businesses deal with two city agencies on one job. LADBS permits and inspects the wiring, and…
What commercial electrical work involves in Riverside
Riverside Public Utilities prices a business by size: a flat rate under 20 kW, demand billing from 20 kW…
Home lighting: recessed, landscape and smart controls
New lighting is a wiring job first and a fixture choice second. The wiring, the box, the switch and…
Exit signs and emergency lighting for businesses
Exit paths must be lit to at least 1 footcandle, and emergency lights and exit signs must run at least 90…